Words are divided into different kinds or classes, called Parts of Speech, according to their use; that is, according to the work they do in a sentence. The parts of speech are eight in number:
1. Noun.        
2. Adjective.        
3. Pronoun.     
4. Verb.
5. Adverb.    
6. Preposition.     
7. Conjunction.       
8. Interjection.

9. A Noun is a word used as the name of a person, place, or thing; as, Akbar was a great King.
Kolkata is on the Hooghly.
The rose smells sweet.
The sun shines bright.
His courage won him honour.

Note: The word thing includes (i) all objects that we can see, hear, taste, touch, or smell; and (ii) something that we can think of, but cannot perceive by the senses.

10. An Adjective is a word used to add something to the meaning of a noun; as,
He is a brave boy.
There are twenty boys in this class.

11. A Pronoun is a word used instead of a noun; as,

John is absent, because he is ill.
The book are where you left them